Jaakko Pietiläinen:



The exhibition by Jaakko Pietiläinen consist of the video piece Sibelius which he has written, directed and edited. He has also composed the music and plays the split main character: as himself and as a reborn Jean Sibelius. By declaring himself a genius the main character becomes a classic male artist. On his journey through his private dreamlike creative ecstasy he loses touch with reality. He sinks deeper into his tragical hubris while his friends and relatives stand helpless.

Pietiläinen deconstructs the romantic nationalist art hero. Behind the easy going narrative and the picturesque and scenic imagery there is lurking darker nuances: By entering the role as Sibelius, Pietiläinen is confronted with his own self – and with the nationalism – and its pitiful core. After the question Who am I? or Who are we? comes silence.

The hero in the piece is an unsettled male artist fluctuating between self-loving and self-loathing. In the end he is always focused on himself. He believes that he is channeling celestial harmonies, but instead he leaves behind a trail of sorrow and misery. The relation to the character is understanding and intimate which blurs the border to fiction..

Jaakko Pietiläinen is an artist and scenographer with a background in graphic design. His is interested in the borderland between fine art and performing arts. Pietiläinen has worked as a set-, light- and costume designer with among other directors such as Katariina Numminen, Anna-Mari Karvonen and Akse Petterson and with the choreographer Jeremy Wade. He has also designed the visual profile for Sinne and Pro Artibus. With his solo show Sibelius Pietiläinen is debuting as a visual artist.

The exhibtion is supported by AVEK, TAIKE and Suomen näytelmäkerho ry.

Story, director, editor and music: Jaakko Pietiläinen
Cinematographer: Jonatan Sundström
Sounds: Jorma Kaulanen
Animations: Eero Pitkänen
VFX consultant: Leo Liesvirta
Aerial cinematographer: Aarne Tapola
Scenography construction and assistance: Elina Vainio
Translation proofing: Henna Vainio
Cast: Jaakko Pietiläinen, Akse Pettersson, Joonas Heikkinen, Noora Dadu, Antti Mattila, Samuli Niittymäki, Unski and Ypi.
Musicians: Ville Koponen, Erkki Lasonpalo, Carmen Moggach-Laivaara and Tomas Nuñez-Garcés


Past program